The Politics of Being Neutral

I have been in this institution for a little bit too long and somehow, unwillingly and unwittingly I have picked up a crew of lovable misfits that I have been lucky enough to call my friends. In fact, some of those close companions are also motivated to get involved in this election. Normally I would be more than willing to wave flags, paint myself different colors and scream and shout whatever they told me to: but the dice have fallen on different sides and my loyalty is split.

For me, this election is two weeks where I lose some of my closest friends and confidantes as they devote themselves to something different. Apparently I can’t call myself neutral, even though I believe that a changed profile picture or a cameo in a campaign video should not have enough sway to change a vote. For me, it is about the people, platforms and policy over the small political tools that have evolved to be essential in Western elections.

I want to clarify that as of right now I have no real idea of which team I will vote for. I have no open endorsements because two weeks can change the hands we hold. I believe in the processes of debates to allow people to explain platforms and perspectives. I go into these weeks with the ability for my decision to be changed.

Furthermore, I resent the fact that the politics have become so nitpicky. However I can understand why they are so personal.

(continued after the jump)

At the end of the day we are not only another day older, we are also willing to engage and spread the dirt instead of taking the high road. But for the people who are willing to spread anything, I want to explain that our intent is and isn’t meant to be unbiased. I have lived and learned throughout my university career with the candidates and it would be impossible to spread absolutely no bias.

Before the race was on, I put in long hours with some of the people on stage in this election and with those behind the curtains.

I have staked my name and reputation of the work we have accomplished.

These are people who have cried, bitched and ranted with.

There are people who have laughed so hard they almost fell off their chair with me.

I would hate for friendship to lose credibility for myself (or this site). So I want to clarify:

We are trying to represent the student voice. Not by being removed, but by trying to take as many slants as possible. You can’t live in a society knowing these people and pretend to be removed. Instead you comment with more insight because you understand who they are. It will allow us to be especially critical and also to express extra compassion.

If you have an issue with any perceived slant, then we welcome that as an opportunity for you to join the conversation.

Leave a comment